Will They Remember My Lesson?

Have you ever wondered, “why spend so much time on my lesson when the kids wont remember it any way?” Or, “how do I get these kids to really take to heart what I am saying? Will they even remember it?” One of the best ways I learned to get the kids to remember was through object lessons. Sounds simple right? Well, it is. I always strive to have at least one part of my message tie into something the kids see or use often. There is always an object that can tie into at least a small portion of your lesson. Easiest example is one lesson I did on the Bible and what it says about itself. I had food, a hammer, and a mirror and used those objects to explain why the Bible calls itself those things. It was a lot of fun and the kids had a blast!

We Remember…
10% of what we read
20% of what we hear
30% of what we see
50% of what we see and hear (OBJECT LESSONS!!!)

Leave a Reply

