Is it me?

Why do I feel so down? Why does my ministry seem flat? Why am I not satisfied to be serving? Why are the visitors not returning? Why do we have the issues we have with the children? What if the answer to the questions is – me? Ecclesiastes 9:18 & 10:1 hit me like a brick.

“Wisdom is better than weapons of war: but one sinner destroyeth much good. Dead flies cause the ointment of the apothecary to send forth a stinking savor: so doth a little folly him that is in reputation for wisdom and honor.”

Am I the sinner that is destroying the good in my ministry? Am I the dead fly that makes it seem all vain service? We need to remember to look inward before we speak outwardly to others. As someone who preaches occasionally, this is a stinging rebuke if we are not clean ourselves before we get up to share God’s Word. May we never be the problem! May we ask God to reveal to us daily any sin that we have in our life!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

