Train Up Fear

 

I hate flossing. It’s annoying. Every time I would go to the dentist my hygienist would always tell me that I should be flossing. I never did. Then I went to my most recent dental appointment. I had a brand new hygienist this time. As she was flossing my teeth, she said the usual company line, “you really should be flossing.” Only this time she added more to it. Words I hadn’t heard a dental hygienist utter before. “There is some gum recession around one of your molars. Do you know what that means?” Sure, I thought. Recession is never a good thing. She then told me that if I start flossing, I may be able to build up more healthy gums around the tooth. So, naturally, I started flossing. I haven’t missed a day since that appointment. Why? Because I am terrified that I will lose my tooth.

Proverbs 3:7-8 “Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the Lord, and depart from evil. It shall be health to thy navel, and marrow to thy bones.”

We often state that fear of God is a reverent fear and respect for God. While I agree, I also believe we need to teach our kids to have a terrified fear of sin. Would it make you live differently if you were terrified of your sin? Terrified that God was there with you all the time – watching what you watch, reading what you read, listening to what you listen to? Put Psalm 101:3 over your TV set. “I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes.” That will change what you watch!

I find it interesting, particularly for me, that the promise attached to fearing God is health! Who doesn’t want to live a healthy life? We need to teach our kids to fear what sin can do to them, and when needed, to develop healthy habits to erase any negative impact of their sin.

Leave a Reply

